Large shopping malls are replacing small local shops. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of large shopping centers is increasing which results in that traditional shops may lose popularity. There are both positive and negative impacts of the trend. However, I would argue that the development of supermarkets have more advantages than the decline in the number of local shops. On the one hand, as more people tend to shop at large malls, local markets are suffering from lack of customers. Due to the fact that there are more choices of what to buy in supermarkets people prefer local markets less than before. Consequently, shop owners cannot make a profit in that they speculate on shops and they are being shut down which leaves the shopkeepers out of work and with almost no fortune. On the other hand, I believe that there are several advantages of the growth in the number of supermarkets. Firstly, shopping malls have products available under one roof from competing organizations. For instance, the largest supermarket in my hometown offers different types of "Nivea" and "Oriflame" products at the same time and makes it easier to compare for customers and purchase them. Moreover, malls provide a number facilities such as parking, food courts and entertainment zones. As a result, people prefer to go to large shopping malls to buy high quality of products and they enjoy a wide variety of opportunities. To sum up, in spite of some problems the development of malls may create, I consider it is a positive trend as customers can be encouraged by similar products from different brands and a lot of convenience.