Language change and the factors influence it

The need of excellent communicative skills in foreign language is urgent in the contemporary age of high professional requirements. Even now, communicative competence has become an essential skill in this 21th century, and English has been a central language for global communication. Students need to use English fluently to fit with international communication. Therefore, mastery of speaking skill becomes the top priority of the language learners’ target, but problems in mastering oral language competency still persist in until today. It seems that developing oral language skills has been neglected in EFL/ESL courses which is shown by many students who could not orally communicate with others in English although they had learnt it for years. Performing spoken English can be a difficult task for some students as they may experience certain learning style, anxiety and lack of communicative competence which avoid them from giving a successful oral performance. Considering English as foreign language in Indonesia, many Indonesian students feel less interested in learning the language. It influences much to the choice of learning style and lack of learning achievement. Developing learner’s strategic competence is regarded important to improve speaking skills for communication as there are lacks of learner’s linguistic competence and sociolinguistic competence to communicate. This paper is to support Canale and Swain (1980) statement that strategic competence may be called into action to compensate for breakdowns in communication due to performance variables or to insufficient competence.