lamb to the slaughter Mary and her husband

Right after I said that Mary asked: “So what is it daring? It seems like bad news. ” She whispered “I hope it’s not. I’ve made a good deal for you” I answered “Then say it now, I'm willing to listen to you. ” “After 7 years working hard, they finally decided to promote me. I’ll become a police commissioner at the police station in New York - which is 4690 km from here. The salary they pay for me is twice my old salary now. ” I’ve slowly elucidated the situation to her. “That is wonderful! Why are you looking so miserable, darling? I and your child can move to New York to support you. You don’t need to worry about us. ” I took a slight sigh and started to say: “Sadly, I guess I have to. There is one rule: I must be single and don’t have children. They said that marriage and children will be a huge distraction for a police commissioner. And if… just if I have any trouble while doing my work and die, they don’t want to get responsible for my wife and my child. When I become a police commissioner, I’ll have to go on business trips regularly to get all my work done. ” “Wh. . . What do you mean? ” She stuttered. I took one deep breath: “ I decide to divorce. I know that you’re 6th month pregnant but I don’t have any other choices. ” And then I tell her the words from the bottom of my heart: “I’m sorry Mary” “No, I don’t understand. Why would my husband treat me like this? ” Mary exclaimed “Calm down Mary. I promise after we divorce I’ll give you enough money to pay for your life. I’ll hire a nanny to take care of you and the baby. I’ll try to go with you the day you are born the child. After the child is born, I’ll come here and see him once a month. In simple terms, everything will stay the same, just a small difference is I’m not living with you here anymore. ” I’m waiting for an answer from Mary but all that I receive is only silence. At the moment I’m about to lose my patience, Mary finally answered me: “Let me have some time to think” Then, she went upstairs to our bedroom and locked the door.