koko is a special gorilla

Koko is a very special gorilla that was born in a San Francisco zoo. Some time after birth, she became very ill and had to be cared for in the zoo’s nursery by Penny Patterson. She learn and understand American Sign Language. When Koko was just a year old, Penny began teaching her American Sign Language. Koko’s first words were ‘drink’, ‘eat’ and ‘more’. By the time Koko was five years old, she could sign over 200 words. Now, Koko is forty fours years old, and she uses more than 1000 words. Gorilla’s have always had their own body language. They beat their chests and use sounds and simple gestures to communicate in the wild. Maybe that is why Koko could learn sign language so easily. Penny believed that if gorillas could learn sign language, they could communicate with humans. Over the years, Koko has been a foster mother to many other kittens. She is always so gentle and loving, taking care of them like real gorilla babies. All Ball was Koko’s first kitten. Koko has helped us understand that humans and gorillas are really not that different. Like us they have forward facing eyes, ears on the sides of their heads, four fingers and a thumb on each hand. They are just like us inside too. Gorillas are smart. They think and have feelings. Most of the time, they are happy and playful, but sometimes they can feel sad or afraid.