KNOWLEDGE GAINED FROM EXPERIENCE AND KNOWLEDGE GAINED FROM BOOKS

A few people insight that books are the fundamental source to acquire information. Others imagine that we gain for the most part from our own insight. Knowledge can be gained through various means. The most important being reading the books. Experience is also one of the most important factors to gain knowledge. There has been always a controversy between the two. I personally think that these two are interrelated because one follows the other. Knowledge gained from books has no use unless we implement it in our practical life. First of all, books are essential in our lives. They give us information, improve our communication and help to build our character. We read books to develop our intelligence and to know the unknown. Knowledge gained from books is theoretical and it helps us to understand the ideas. We know the word hot/cold by reading books but we can’t realize it as it just a theoretical word. On the other hand, you may know that experience is the best teacher. It is one of the most important parts in our practical life. We can get many solutions on experience. Because knowledge gained from books is more practical and it is related to our five senses. Experienced people are more able to understand the information. One can apply all his theoretical knowledge on experience. For example, you can’t drive a car by reading books but you can do it by practicing. Finally, knowledge gained from experience is remembered longer. You may quickly forget a concept learning from books unless you implement it in practical manner. For instance, a doctor or a lawyer has to read varied books during their professional life. But their knowledge will be no use if the implement it properly. It is through experience they will come to know that where and how to apply the particular knowledge. To sum up, Learning from books is only theoretical and help to develop our intelligence. But experience is the most important source of knowledge. Because it makes information more understandable and reliable. And ultimately it is the best way to remember something for long time.