It is true that people who spend their free time reading for entertainment purposes are more imaginative than those who are in favor of watching TV. I completely believe that reading is better option to nurture richer imagination.

As we all know, books use text to convey ideas and quite often there are no images or illustrations to picture the scenes described in the book. Therefore, we have to use our own imagination while reading. For example, reading a fantasy novel that contains mythical creatures one would normally see the appearance of those characters in their mind while following the plot. This lets people initiate new stories with different characters and different background and this stimulates imaginativeness and creativity. In contrast, movie heroes on a TV screen are usually created for the viewer by directors and producers of the film. Watching TV substitutes the need to develop one’s own imagination because the characters and their surroundings are shown on the screen. In addition, the most important cause why reading is much better for imagination than watching TV is that reading is an interactive process between the person and what he reads. Flicking through books and turning pages grasps reader's attention and helps him to appreciate what he reads. As a result, this appreciation and that attention will increase reader’s interest. Moreover, reading let people share with highlighting words, drawing shapes, and even write a summary or suggestion, and this active interaction enhances strong imagery In conclusion, people who love to read tend to have a more active imagination and comprehension than those who watch television, since readers are required to imagine the story in the book and feel it from the context.