It is true that medical inventions are commonly tested on animals to ensure safety before being launched on the market for the public. While some argue that these animal tests should be prohibited in terms of ethical perspective given the pain and suffering caused to/ INFLICTED ON animals, some believe that these experiments are indispensable for the discoveries of medicine.

It is true that medical inventions are commonly tested on animals to ensure safety before being launched on the market for the public. While some argue that these animal tests should be prohibited in terms of ethical perspective given the pain and suffering caused to/ INFLICTED ON animals, some believe that these experiments are indispensable for the discoveries of medicine. This essay discusses both sides and then I will give my own perspective. On the one hand, some claim that medical testing on animal bodies should be banned for moral reasons because of the pain and fear that laboratory animals may suffer. The main justification for believing this is that animal experimentation is showing the cruel and selfish behavior of the human race to animals. Admittedly, the procedures of assessing the effectiveness of new medicinal products may cause → may be the culprit behind a lot of pain and distress to living creatures, which is the reason why the tremendous benefits to human safety cannot justify the suffering caused. An unethical example could be the behavioral tests measuring anxiety in rats that force a large number of rats and mice to suffer from electric shock and inhale toxic fumes. Moreover, animal experimentation is unethical and may not be the best way among measures for drugs testing because scientists can apply some alternatives considered as non-animal methods. Specifically, some alternatives to replace animal testing have been reported to obtain a desirable result, including experimenting on cell structures or using computer models are among some that can epitomize this argument. On the other hand, proponents of animal experiments may state that it is necessary to use animals to test drugs before the medicinal products can be sold on the market. Firstly, this approach may save people from the risk of unwanted side effects of medicines such as some permanent injuries on mental health, and even death. To be more specific, the human race is facing the threat of idiopathic diseases like covid-19, and thus medicinal research implemented by specialists is essential/ plays a pivotal role in to understand human diseases and to develop new treatments. Secondly, some studies on the effects of genetic diseases could enable researchers to explore treatments for serious diseases consisting of cancer, heart disease, stroke, and other chronic diseases. This practice is expected to not only make scientific advances but also contribute to life-saving purposes. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, I feel that the use of animals in medical research should be prohibited from a moral point of view/ perspective In other words, some non-animal alternative methods should be taken into consideration.