It is thought that some people are born with talents while others are not. Some others believe that any child can be taught anything and become an expert in that area.

It is often argued that natural aptitude is the key factor to become an expert while other people believe that learning and practicing a skill is the key factor. This essay will discuss both these points of view and argue in favour of the latter. To begin with, natural ability is an advantage to perform better in certain areas. Generally, gifted people can pick up the skills quicker and easier. They have more time to explore a higher level. Albert Einstein is an example of famous gifted people. He was a physicist in the 20th century and made important contributions. It is hard to find a person that can compare with him after he died. It proves that talent is important for people to become an expert. Nevertheless, critics argue that if children learn and practice the skills when they are young, they also have the opportunity to become an expert. It is applicable to sports. Normally, athletes have at least ten years training before they have the qualification to join the Olympic game. For example, Liu Xiang is a Chinese former 110-meter hurdler. He is the first Chinese to obtain the World Champion. In the past, African won most of hurdling competition because of genes. However, Liu Xiang overcame the physical difference and won the World Champion. It indicates that practice is a crucial factor. In my opinion, I believe that ‘practice makes perfect’ in most of the fields. Without a doubt, natural ability is an advantage at the beginning as learning time is shortened. However, if talented people do not keep working on the field. They will probably leave behind. Therefore, everyone has an opportunity to become proficient. To sum up, although people have different views, I agree that practice is the key factor to become an expert.