It is thought by some people that social platforms such as Facebook have affected the community in a negative way

It is thought by some people that social platforms such as Facebook have affected the community in a negative way. In my opinion, Even though social media has created an opportunity to socialize people worldwide, It has many negative impacts. Social media has granted people unrestricted freedom of speech. In other words, people can say whatever they want without fear of the consequences. This has affected many nations by creating and encouraging conflicts. It is common to find people who use social media as a platform to spread hate and racism views. As an illustration, Ethiopian government has been struggling to control the media in dealing with the currently ongoing civil war. People have been using Facebook to spread false information regarding the war and national issues, as a result this has precipitated the conflict. Although such media has a great contribution in globalization and making the world feel like a single community. They have also led the new generation into great distraction. Due to the media portraying fame, money and trends as the only source of happiness, nowadays it is common to find mental issues related to such pressure. Studies have shown that psychiatry illnesses such as depression and anxiety are becoming more common in the youth due to the peer pressure from such platforms. In conclusion, as with any new technology, social media has its own advantages and disadvantages. The society and the government have the power to monitor and limit the long term negative impacts through tight regulations and laws.