It is quite right that top sports people should be paid a lot of money.

Sports industry is one always in the spotlight, many people keep up with the sports news and dedicate much of their leisure time to that kind of entertainment. Sportsmen are mainly seen as mythical creatures with enormous paychecks and fancy lives. Do they deserve to be paid a lot of money? It is a controversial issue, which is being widely discussed. This essay will justify high salaries for sportsmen and provide critical analysis of the subject. Psychology of an average person is quite unique but can be generalized in terms of different behavioral patterns. It is natural for people to compare other’s paychecks to theirs. This leads to many questions like ‘Why does one earn more than I do? ’ and conclusions such as ‘This is unfair’. In fact, many people believe that sportsmen lead fancy lives, get enormous money for playing once a season and party on yachts. There are obvious reasons to why people tend to think that way, mainly due to the fact that mass media only covers ‘fun’ part of sportsmen lives. In my opinion, prominent athletes deserve high paychecks, as their lifestyle is very exhausting. First of all, their work is inseparable from their everyday life. The Economist published an article with surprising materials on professional sports industry. In order to be in shape and perform well in the competitions, athletes have to train at least 6 hours a day, always keep strict dietary balance and a specific sleep regime. Moreover, it should be highlighted that only outstanding sportsmen receive a lot of money. The World Sports Committee statistics provide data, proving that only 0, 002% of all sportsmen are prominent athletes who receive significant salaries. I strongly believe that their talent should be appreciated, as it is truly exceptional. In order to evaluate this issue some counterarguments should be considered as well. Many people outline that sportsmen’s contribution to the development of the world is not so great and there is no real value created by them. Nevertheless, they fail to consider one simple truth: entertainment industry is an essential, fundamental part of our lives. Athletes are the ones who gather millions of people at the stadiums, pubs or even at home around the TV to spend some quality time watching games and competitions. For that they deserve the enormous paychecks they usually get. In conclusion, this essay discussed justifications for the high salaries received by the athletes. Exhausting lifestyles and constant pressure under which sportsmen often find themselves are unbearable and should be acknowledged.