IT IS OFTEN THOUGHT THAT the increase in Juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think is the reason for this phenomena? Suggest some measures to combat this problem.

The proliferating rate of juvenile delinquency, indeed, is a matter of concern. Indubitably, violence in media is perpetuating the youngsters to commit illegal activities. However, the rate of youth crime can be deterred by adopting few suggestions which would be discussed in further paragraphs of this essay. People associated with mass media and communications leave no stone unturned to amplify their tele- ratings by telecasting various news or series which may have negative impact on youngsters. A show named CID, for instance, being showcased on a popular TV channel always comes with a new story of based on criminal activities. Such serials give ideas to amateurs about how to indulge into easy money making acts, without thinking about the consequences. Sometimes, teenagers who want to take revenge from their peers after a fight, are also provoked from these illegal ideas and end up being offenders. However, such offending activities can be mitigated from the society by adopting better education system and vigilance of parents. Greater emphasis being paid on education during childhood, certainly contributes to positive behavior. A recent study conducted by WHO reveals that, children between age group 3 to 6 years if exposed to moral stories, never fall for anti social acts of immorality. Therefore, education should be made compulsory for all which should be inclusive of a sound moral system. In addition to this, parents and caregivers should be quite vigilant about their child's company. For the best of the child, they should ensure that he may not fall prey to wrong company. Even making these youngsters aware of the punishments being charged for any felony, would deter them to do so. To conclude, I would say, although tackling crime is challenging, the prevention can be achieved through the measures aforementioned. Vigilance of parents and responsible editing of violent activities by directors would ensure a better and bright future for the youth of any country.