IT IS OFTEN SAID, “WHEN IN ROME, DO AS THE ROMANS DO”. DO YOU THINK PEOPLE SHOULD ADAPT THE CULTURE OF THE COUNTRY THEY ARE VISITING? DO YOU THINK IT IS POSSIBLE TO LEARN A CULTURE WITHOUT LEARNING THE LANGUAGES?

There is a widespread statement which means that whenever people visit a particular country, they should have similar behaviours with its citizens. This essay will address why foreigners should adapt to the culture of the nation they intend to visit, as well as, the need to learn the spoken languages in order to grasp the culture fully. To start with, culture is the people’s way of life, and there is no nation without its unique traditions. Foreign nationalities that plan to leave their home must be ready to show their corporation due to the following reasons: firstly, the visitors are temporary residents, and as such, must show some respect to the customs; and secondly, the country’s heritage and ideologies are protected by their values and norms. To illustrate, someone who plans to embark on a trip to any Arabic countries must be careful with their dressing and grooming so as not to trigger uproar amongst the citizens. In addition, culture encompasses languages, beliefs, dressing and food, and thus, there is a direct connection between the norms and what the locals speak. In other words, a proper understanding of the spoken words will facilitate a genuine knowledge of these belief systems and traditions. Take, for instance, an individual who has resided in another land for over a decade, speaking the dialect will help such a person to easily cope with the structure and systems of the current residence. In conclusion, it is of utmost significance for visitors to accord the required dignity and respect for the value systems of their host nations, together with, showing a proper appreciation of their mother tongue. These will pave the way for the foreigners to be easily absorbed by the locals.