It is often said that to become a successful business a tertiary education is not at all necessary. Give your opinion.

Education is an important aspect of our career. Higher education not only helps in increasing the knowledge and experience of a person, but also gives a better career prospect. Whereas many argue that setting up a successful business also requires multiple degrees, I believe that a basic education and street smartness can also be enough. Firstly, the trend to attend the elite universities and business schools, has been set up by the well-off families. Although these universities are definitely helping its students to get an idea of the corporate world, according to me this still cannot be enough. For example, the son of a well known businessman failed to increase the profit of the family business, even after attending Oxford University. Hence, it is clear that there is more to a successful business, than just multiple degrees. Additionally, I feel that a good public and peer relationship, along with the ability to take corrective decision at the correct time can be a winning strategy for all businesses. For instance, a roadside tea shop in Kolkata has been expanding its business for the last 10 years and is now one of the most prestigious tea cafes of the world. The owner of the business has not even completed his basic school education, Thus, it proves that someone with practically no proper education in business and other related fields can also set up a successful business. To conclude, it is clear that years of experience can prove to be equivalent of millions of dollars worth education and sometimes can even surpass the latter. Higher education can definitely be an additional advantage for someone in understanding the business strategies, however can never become the only pathway to success. It is important to have other skills to continue a successful entrepreneurship.