It is now becoming very common for many companies to implement a policy that mandates their employees to wear uniform at work. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of this trend?

These days, a lot of organizations provide and necessitate their workers to wear uniforms. This essay will elaborate on the benefits and the drawbacks of this phenomenon. On the one hand, there are numerous advantages to wearing a uniform in the workplace for both organizations and workers. The most significant advantage is that they are all promoted equally. As a consequence, no one feels superior or inferior to anyone which eventually leads to comfort at work. For example, one of my friends works for an international company where everyone wears uniforms that are courteous and refined. That is why he feels people are more friendly when working in companies that wear the same clothes. Furthermore, one of the important advantages of wearing the same attire in the workplace is to boost teamwork. In fact, by wearing a uniform, people will have more self confidence. This results in a vibe of work and also the success of a team. On the other hand, wearing uniforms brings drawbacks for the users. The lack of a comfortable feeling is one of the significant cons. This is because they feel that they do not have any choices or freedom in wearing clothes. It leads to trying to avoid being in a uniform resulting in them losing their motivation to perform their tasks which can alsos have an impact on their work performance. In addition, there is no diversity and it is unfashionable, especially for female workers. For instance, in my school, girls often choose colorful uniforms in the afternoons instead of continuing to wear formal clothes. They think they look more interesting and beautiful when wearing such clothes. I believe the same goes for employees whenever they go to work. (I added this one to relate your example to the topic. ) In conclusion, wearing the same clothes when working brings both benefits and drawbacks. Giving everyone a feeling of being equal and a sense of belonging is the main advantage whereas the major disadvantage is that it may give the wearer discomfort and seems to be less interesting.