It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is critical to teach an individual at a young age how to distinguish between good and bad. A system of punishment plays a key role in helping children understand this difference. I strongly agree that parents and teachers ought to teach these differences through non-physical punishment. Childhood is the ideal age to learn the right way from the wrong way, which is why parents and teachers consider it their duty to show this way to children. Undoubtedly, non-corporal and tiny punishments can be an instructive solution for this path. In other words, when children are punished for their inappropriate behaviour and encouraged because of right behaviour, along with these punishments and encouragement, the reasons are explained to them as well, they learn to think about their actions. Therefore, by analysing the consequences of their action and understanding it, they will recognise good and bad behaviour. For instance, in numerous schools, if children bully at home or school, they will be banned from chatting with their friends or having their favourite toy, in contrast, if they correct their performance, they will be able to attend recreational camps. Moreover, children do not have much experience in life, so if they are not informed of their wrongdoings, they will repeat them. A child who once steals an item from a friend may repeat it if she/he is not aware of her/his mistake. However, punishment can also cause severe negative influences on a child’s psychological and physical development. Some parents and teachers believe that corporal and verbal punishment is the right approach. In truth, such punishments cause stress and anxiety in children, due to them, youngsters will encounter dilemmas, such as communicating with others. Consequently, isolation from the community and other mentioned cases cause them to suffer from various diseases in adulthood. Non-physical punishments should replace corporal and verbal punishments because such punishments can be constructive and practical. To conclude, I completely believe that parents and teachers can inform children of right and wrong through non-corporal punishment.