It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued whether children with naturally gifted talents have a tendency to become experts in their professional career, like sports or music. While this opinion has become a concrete belief in the majority of the population, a number of people hold the perspective that training can transform an untalented one to a good athlete or music performer. This essay agrees with the first statement and disagrees with the latter one. First, it is clear that being born with a gifted talent helps you shorten ways to excelling in a preferential career. One who owns this finds it easier in learning new knowledge and specific skills. As a result, these children find fulfillment and productivity in their daily practice. They gradually make good progress throughout the time and find their passion, ultimately. These children will grow their grit in overcoming obstacles, stereotypes, as well as their talent ignites perseverance. Despite this aforementioned belief custom, it is assumed that children who have no natural gift can also get better in their expertise, like the gifted one. There is a formula known as the “1000-hour rule”, which means one has to practice 1000 hours to become an outstanding one in every career. This has applied to The Beatles, as they used to play 8 hour non-stop in Berlin at the beginning of the band. Besides, some gifted ones can become overdependent on their skills. They may neglect longtime training, which is considered as a formula to become outliers. As a result, their talents soon fade and these ones find it difficult to start again. However, this should be regarded as a minor issue, as their mindset may change through time. Also, the 1000-hour formula is not true in many composers, athletes, etc in history, like Mozart, who composed various musicals, piano plays before deceased at 20. To sum up, having natural certain talents is a great advantage to become expertise in a career which requires passion. Hence, children should not forget that practice makes perfect, as becoming an expert in any profession requires longtime learning and perseverance.