Some people think that the detailed criminal description on newspapers and TV has bad influences, so this kind of information should be restricted on the media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued whether restricting detailed criminal description on the media should be carried out due to its adverse effects on newspapers readers and viewers. This essay agrees with the statement because of the impact violence and criminal news bring out and restrictions should be put to minimize the negative influence on society. Firstly, widespread detailed criminal description on media forms prompts negative cognition in societies, which results in making people become more worried about insecurities of where they live. Readers and TV viewers perceive many forms of negative news could develop a fearful and anxious mindset. As a result, they will gradually lose the trust and ideal in a good and well-mannered society. For many parents, seeing and approaching these news daily can make them feel more fearful about independent safety for their children. As a consequence, they could become overprotected to their offspring, which later lead the juniors to become over - dependent on older generations, due to their lack of life skills and interactions outside the street. Secondly, privacy, identity of the criminal and victim’s family and their circles should be a large concern. The problem of the media lies in protecting the privacy of these people. When reporters write the news about criminals, they investigate not only the crime scene but also the criminal’s houses, families, and their neighborhoods. Also, private information about the victim is also collected through interviews with the victim’s families and circles. As a consequence, both criminal and victim’s circles will be seriously mental affected through their reputation, which is unpleasant. Criminal’s circles will get isolated, bullied, harassed and even have to move out of their residence to find peace in their lives. Victim’s circles also become vulnerable when their privacy is widely revealed. Third, repeated updates of crime news can give rise to false judgement and discrimination about a particular group of people. The death of George Floyd and other African Americans through false convictions of officers are regarded as the result of frequent news about black criminals. Despite the fact that documenting criminal description can influence individuals in an unfavorable way, crime news can be regarded as a way of informing the public to create a safer community. Through the warnings about culprits, one can become more alert when they go out and they can prepare defensive skills to help them exit dangerous situations. However, regular broadcasting about these news can make people lack trust and forget the meanings of good strangers surrounding them. In conclusion, policy and legislation should be implemented to restrict the bad influence of detailed criminal description as these news give rise to individual’s insecurity about a good society, unprotected identity and privacy of the criminal and victim’s circles, and falsely racial discrimination.