It is common practice for some students to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In the present age, students bridge the gap before joining the work or experience travel after they graduate from high school. While it has its benefits on students for gaining practical knowledge or exploring their career options, it also has a downside wherein they may struggle to find a job and can extend their break. The encouraging trend of taking break after finishing high school is more prevalent these days because students get the opportunity to learn pragmatic skills in their jobs. In other words, they tend to learn practical application of their subjects which was rather not possible in the confined theoretical teaching at school. A good illustration, in this case, can be that In India, numerous students works in BPO Sectors wherein they understand practical dealing with clients on daily basis. Another added advantage for the students to put a hold on their career at this stage could be the discovery of the ultimate field of interest wherein they want to pursue their career with. This is because youngsters are exposed to multifarious fields and they can evaluate the prospects and growth of each in future by working in it or discussing it with their seniors, co-workers and friends. Therefore, it is evident that this trend can be positive. On the contrary, there are few drawbacks when one doesn't pursue his/her further career after they are graduated. Firstly, this break may impact negatively on a teenager when he/she is applying for a job. This is due to the reason that few employers believe that aspirants are not lately equipped with the learning in their school, which acts as a primary criteria for selection in few organizations. Admittedly, employers would give more preference to an immediate graduate rather than the candidate who has been on traveling for a year. Secondly, it is observed that some pupils may take this gap as an opportunity to do the activities they want to do and they become reluctant to go back with their former careers. To illustrate this: My friend started a global tour after he finished his high school and he liked the traveling to such an extent that he didn't pursued his primary career. Therefore, it is conclusive that there are prominent downsides which cannot be overlooked. To conclude, I would concede that although there are benefits to learn pragmatic knowledge of subjects and discovering new career options in the gap taken after high school, there are some demerits wherein they can face challenges for getting a job and may extend their break.