It is better to live in a big city than a small town.

Many people prefer to live in large metropolitan cities rather than small rural towns, mainly because there are greater job opportunities and also the lifestyle is more interesting. Although there are numerous drawbacks of living in the hustle and bustle of the metropolis, I believe it is better than living in a quiet rural village. There are several reasons why it is better to live in a megacity. The first advantage relates to the ease of finding a job due to the presence of numerous companies as well as small businesses and service industries located there. In addition, there are government departments that employ large numbers of people. Another benefit of residing in the big smoke is the wide range of entertainment for all age groups. There are cinemas, where the latest movies are shown, trendy cafes and clubs where people can meet socially and also concerts and exhibitions that are not readily accessible in a small town. Furthermore, food lovers can enjoy a variety of restaurants which serve both local and international cuisine. Finally, education is of a higher standard in a city, due to the many schools and universities which are hard to find in rural areas. Moreover, cities offer a multitude of both formal and informal learning opportunities such as language and cooking courses. However, there are also negative impacts of living in a big city. Firstly, cities are normally overcrowded, meaning living costs and daily needs are quite often expensive. What is more, as so many people commute around the city, public transport is commonly crowded and uncomfortable, particularly during peak or rush hours. Secondly, cities are generally polluted. This includes pollution from vehicle emissions, industry and also household waste which is not the case in a village environment. In conclusion, despite the traffic and pollution issues, I strongly believe it is still more attractive than living in a small town because the benefits, namely available job positions, activities and facilities in a big city outweigh the disadvantages.