it is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than one

There is a saying ‘Knowledge is power’. It opens doors to many good and positive aspects of life. Few people believe that one should be skilled in one particular subject and have in depth knowledge about it in order to achieve great career and earn good money in life. But in my opinion, having broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject is a smart idea for the following three reasons. First of all, studying multiple academic subjects can broader one’s mindset. You can have wide variety of knowledge which may help you in personal life as well. For example, I studied soft skills subject during my graduation. After finishing the course, I found myself more confident. Moreover, I could sense that my interpersonal skills had improved a lot. My family and friends started complimenting me for that. Second of all, knowledge in various subjects gives you opportunity to explore yourself and can help you in figuring out the domain you are interested in the most. Eventually, this will help you to get clear picture for the future in which domain you want to work ahead. For example, I studied both biology and mathematics during my high school. At the end of the final year, I figured out that I was more interested in calculations and solving problems. Hence I chose to be an engineer during my graduation course. Selecting multiple subjects helped me to figure out my interest in a greater way. Finally, Nowadays we can see huge competition in getting job in any domain. Organizations want multi skilled employees who can help them to cut man power and can work in multiple domains easily. They want people who can be switched among multiple projects as an when required. They don’t want employees who are skilled in single domain. In addition to this, they provide training if any employee have basic knowledge in that particular domain. Thus, broad knowledge of multiple subjects plays an important role in career development. It becomes quite easy to find a job if you have knowledge in multiple areas. In nutshell, Specialization in one area could be a considerable option for an individual. But it has limited opportunities in this challenging world. One should always ty to get knowledge in multiple academic subjects for future betterment.