It is better for young adults to move away from their family home than to continue to live with their parents.

It has become increasingly common for young adults to move away from their family home rather than continue to live with their parents. While some claim moving away from parent’s has benefits, this essay will argue that continuing to live with parents might be a better option for young adults. Two reasons for this are financial stability and easier access to parental wisdom and guidance. To begin with, it is common for young adults to want to move away as soon as they have graduated from universities. In fact, this may bring drawbacks, as they will lose the parental safety net that safeguards financial stability. In my country Indonesia, for example, houses prices are so high that without a high-paying job young adults will struggle to pay rent, food and transportation costs. Without a good start in adult life they may end up taking a job with low salary or one that is not their dream job. The second notable point is that young adults are likely to lack self-confidence and self-respect. They tend to be self-willed and may become egoistic in their decision-making. For instance, there is a public figure in Indonesia who married young, but cannot maintain a good relationship with her husband because of always using emotion to solve problems. This case shows that wisdom and guidance which are given by parents play an important role in our lives. In conclusion, for young adults, living with their parents instead of moving away from their family home might be a good measure in terms of financial stability and access to parental wisdom and guidance. Based on the tangible evidence above, young adults might reconsider their willingness to move away from their family to avoid these drawbacks in their future lives.