It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media on our lives. Does this trend have more positive or negative effects on the society?

Media has long been a controversial topic of debate over the years concerning its utilities. Opposers have even conducted studies on the growth of the new platform, showing the many detrimental effects it brings to society and humans. Despite all that, I believe if employed for the right purposes, the benefits of mass media will outweigh their drawbacks. Many people argue that social media overtakes our collective connections. In the past, people used to communicate with each other face-to-face, and this helps strengthen the bonds among the people in the community. Since the development of Facebook or Twitter, people lack real-life conversations important to their mental and physical health. Furthermore, social media also gives way to misinformation or cyber-bullying. Take Britney Spears as an example, having been constantly abused and harassed by virtual anti-fans, she had to be hospitalized after years of suffering from depression. However, media is a boon to our civilization; indeed, online platforms have improved many aspects of our lives more than ever before. People can communicate with their distant family members via video calls in a matter of clicks or make friends internationally. Other than that, getting access to the internet is an advantage because it brings people to the outside world,  encouraging them to learn about the cultures and customs of other countries. Multimedia is also beneficial to business people if they want to promote their products or create ads to attract customers. According to a survey, Samsung and Huawei are among the brands that have the most buyers thanks to advertising campaigns. Public media also gives voice to the voiceless. What I mean by this is the media is an ideal place for people who did not have the courage to express their matter directly. They can use online platforms to spread their words or to share personal stories with the world. In conclusion, every matter has its own pros and cons, so does social media. While we may risk losing the own ways of communication, I strongly think this new trend will enhance many aspects of our lives such as international communication, cultural exchange, business opportunity, or even voice empowerment. Yet, one must remember to use these sites with goodwill and intentions so that they will not affect other people and themselves.