Some think it is fair for convicts to do their time in prison, while some think it's a waste of social resources. Instead, they believe those criminals should do community service as a payback for their wrong behavior. with these viewpoints.

It has become an issue of public concern whether criminals should provide public services for feedback of the society in order to apologize for their previous wrong behaviors. The reason for the heated debate is that some people harbor a belief that supporting they live in prisons is a waste of taxes from taxpayers. There are many gains that people who have committed crimes contribute to their communities. One of the beneficial advantages is that providing them with vocational training in real society. After they graduate from prisons, they have to search for new jobs so this can help them prepare for employment in advance. Also, they can acquire working expertise from career guidance offered by the government. Another benefit is that it is a golden opportunity to assist them re-enter society and get connections of communities. If they make contributions to volunteer services, they would feel more confident and a sense of achievement. As a result, this is able to help them build self-confidence and ignite their motivations back to society. Most importantly, it is a perfect time to reform convicts to make them become useful/contributing members of society. Notwithstanding the supporting benefits mentioned above, these disadvantages should not be neglected. For one thing, it exists a risk to threaten the public’s safety, if they do not get a lesson from their criminal experience. In other words, they are more likely to re-offend and commit crimes again. Additionally, it might form an incorrect concept to teenagers or citizens that people can do labor services to make up for their criminal mistakes, such as killing a person. Hence, it may have the potential to soar crime rates. In conclusion, there are few things in the world that should only be seen from two sides, this issue also has pros and cons. However, the writer of the essay is inclined to support that convicts can do community service as a payback to offset their mistakes. It is because that they must go back to their original lives after they are out of prisons ultimately. At the same time, this action also can reduce the financial burden on the government.