Local people do not go very often to museums or historical sites. Why is that? What can be done to change the situation?

In this modern times, world is a global village where tourist can travel to any country from their native place. Tourist love to travel and learn about the foreign countries culture and history. Museums are built where antiques are placed to show the world. It is undeniable that local people do not visit the museums or historic places as compared to tourists. I belief the notion that local people don’t prefer other cities historic places over their own historic places in their cities. Firstly, they are bored with those places because have visited that places to often. Second, museums are still showing antiques which were already seen by the local people. Moreover, historic places don’t attract the locals as its easy avalable to them. Plus curiosity to visit them is lacking. Every problem has a solution. First and foremost, local museums should have a contract in which they should exchange the antiques once a year so that local people should invest their time to get a glimpse for different antiques. Futhermore, news shops should be open near the historic places for exemplary, new shops are open every year near golden temple so that people should visit the shops and notice the historic places. Last but not the least, marketing should be done for museums and historic places to have wide range of customers. As such it can be conclude that if strict measures are not taken to improve the situtation regarding local people the historic places and museums will lose their big chunk of local customers.