It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nobody can deny that the education has been the integral part of the world`s development, so the question of whether there to be a gap year between the last year at school and entering the university is important for both students and parents. Here are two undoubted benefits and also two problems stemming from this situation. First and foremost, the main advantage of this is the ability of students to improve certain skills, which are of the greatest importance in further or higher education. Indeed, never have students had enough time to assimilate sources fully, as a wide range of subjects at school unable them to concentrate on the main target. This can be seen in the behavior of teenagers, whereby stretched school timetable and extra-curriculum activities pose the risk of sleeping disorder and depression later on. A further benefit might be a golden opportunity to collect money for studies by working part-time, a trend we can see among students, who cannot afford expensive tuition fee. If they had not been given a year to cover the expenditure of University, they would bear the economic burden and study simultaneously now. Turning to possible drawbacks, waste of time is inevitable in most cases, meaning that students get distracted to recreation, including sport and traveling or even lose their motivation to progress over such a long period. For instance, according to statistics, 70 per cent of Columbia University students fail formal examinations, as activities of the secondary importance steal their attention. As a last point, some teenagers are likely to get a job with a high salary and job prospects, considering that education is barely required for career progression. Consequently, they abandon studies and obtain no master degree, which seems to play a leading role in later life. Overall, acclaiming a gap year for school age pupils, entering the University enables them to prepare for upcoming exams both mentally and financially. However, despite these benefits, teenagers neglect learning and obtain another occupation later on.