It is argued that we are living in a throw-away society: people throw away what they use in daily life, instead of recycling or reusing them. Why has this happened and how to address this issue?

People are likely to use products only once instead of keeping these items for a long time. It is important to understand why this throw-away culture has developed and how we reverse this trend. Consumers today do not keep many goods for a long period of time because these products are not expensive as before. Technological innovations and mass production have reduced the cost of production and improved the productivity of the workforce. Some electronic products such as mobile phones and computers are now sold at low prices, and this is why many people would purchase the newest products instead of fixing broken ones. Young people, in particular, prefer to purchase the lasted mobile phones with up-to-date features and throw old ones away. Another reason is that people lack environmental awareness. People have not yet realized that their ways of life will lead to energy consumption and cause waste as well as pollution. They do not know that household appliances can end up in landfill sites and these non-biodegradable products can have a destructive on the environment. If they are aware that recycling can make their lifestyles more sustainable, they will possibly try to reuse products. As the overconsumption of consumer goods is pervasive, it is important to take some measures to mitigate this problem. The first one is to raise environmental awareness, educating people to change the ways they use and dispose of different products. Governments can also enforce some laws to deter consumers from throwing away goods. For example, the tax penalty can be imposed on the use of some disposable products, including plastic bags, thereby encouraging people to use eco-friendly alternatives. To summarize, people’s changing attitudes toward consumption and price cuts are the main reasons behind excessive consumption of consumer goods. To address this problem successfully, the top priority is to raise people’s awareness of environmental protection and motivate them to change their lifestyles.