Some people say that the best way to reduce crime is by using prison sentence

People work on many ways to reduce crime. Part of the population thinks the best method for the issue is sending criminals into prison. This essay will discuss why prison sentence is not the best idea to control crimes. Prison sentences are normally used in most countries while their number of crimes may still rise. This method can only apply to the least serious of law-breaking, such as shoplifting. People who committed the least serious misconduct usually feel guilty afterwards. Most of them will never try to commit it again after being in jail. For the public, being in prison is a serious issue, therefore, they will not attempt to break the laws. Prison sentence is stopping people attempt to break the laws. However, the majority of serious violations, like murder, corruption or arson, are carefully planned and causing a large number of damage or casualties. In this situation, sending them to jail is not enough. In Korea, there are lots of criminals recommitting crimes after they had been released from prison, especially murderers and rapers. They are not reflecting their behaviour in their cells but planning the next crime after they are released. Therefore, prison sentence does not have any crime reducing effect on these types of lawbreakers. Besides, education could be better for the young lawbreakers instead of prison sentences. This population is naive and their curiosity leads them to break laws since their might be given the wrong value during their adolescence. If they are sent to jail, there is no return for them to start a new life. They are more suitable to have different punishments in order to give them a chance. A Prison sentence is just like a death sentence to them, and they might keep going in the wrong approach which they will continue to commit crimes. In conclusion, prison sentence has different effects on different kinds of population. There is no best way to handle all of the situations in order to reduce crime. In my opinion, prison sentence has a certain effect on the majority of the public, but not the best measure to decrease crime numbers for all circumstances.