Should government invest in Arts or in Public Services?

The government spends a substantial part of its budget these days, not just on public works, but also on the arts. Though spending money on public services is necessary, I don’t think spending on the arts is a waste of money. There are many reasons that a substantial amount of the government budget is spent on public services. First and foremost, things like hospitals, highways, and schools, are public facilities and these things decide the quality of life that most of us will have. For instance, the health of our society will decline if the government does not spend enough money on hospitals. Similarly, our children will not be adequately educated if there is not enough money spent on schools. Also, if we do not spend enough on these things, the poor in our society will be more affected. This does not suggest, however, that the arts should be entirely ignored. To begin with, it is difficult for many arts organizations to make a lot of profit, so many theatres and other such venues will have to close without any government assistance. In addition, the arts also have an important influence on our quality of life. Many citizens are very fond of music and theatre shows, so it is important for the government to fund those organizations so that they can continue to provide entertainment to the public. To sum up, there are obvious advantages of ensuring that a significant amount of money goes into public services and for almost all of us, this affects the quality of life. That said, I don’t think spending money on the arts is a waste of money, as it also offers major advantages.