Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors in major sports competition such as Olympic Games and football World Cup etc. It is better to spend money encouraging children take up sports at a young age.

The expenditure for sports is a major problem for many countries for the argument whether the government should spend more money training particular professional athletes or creating better conditions for adolescents of the whole nation. While I partly agree that encouraging the participation of children in sports activity is quite important, I believe that investing in the professionals who have the chance to win glory for the country is equally significant. The positive impacts of motivating children to be physically active can be seen from several aspects. Firstly, with the heavy load of classes, kids nowadays have less and less time to play outdoors or even get on their feet, which results in a rising trend of obesity rates and other illnesses. By providing opportunities like holding sports events for youth can help them get some exercise. Moreover, sports offer numerous spirits that are good for life, such as teaching kids the secret of teamwork and the life lesson of not being frightened by failure. Finally, participating in sports activities gives children more chances to interact and socialize with their peers in person instead of communicating through social media. The great outcomes of helping competitors prepare for major sports competitions are nonnegligible. To begin with, getting prizes in such competitions shows the world not only the excellent talents of these athletes but also the comprehensive strength of the nation. Furthermore, these events are often of huge popularity among the general public around the world, watching participants winning the game arises the interest of children. For example, the two most famous football players, Cristiano Ronaldo and Messi, have inspired thousands of kids to play football. Last but not the least, the development of the sports business of the country summons up the patriotism of its citizens. In conclusion, encouraging the young to participate more in sports activities is as important as fostering professional athletes for major sports events and neither of these should compromise for the other.