It is an increasing trend of businesses to neglect the environment to further their profits. What problems can this cause? What measures could resolve them?

“Environment” has become a more and more commonplace term in today’s world. The fact that many corporations and industries are prioritizing their profits over their environmental implications has posed severe threats to the environment. Fortunately, there are some solutions to tackle these problems. Firstly, the environment would be polluted due to businesses’ environmental negligence. Indeed, to boost their profits, cost-cutting on waste treatment may be a favourable option to many managers, thus the increasing disposal of hazardous substances into our surroundings. Such action may result in air, soil, and water contamination. Subsequently, not only could animal’s habitats be severely devastated, but citizens’ health is also affected owing to eating accidentally contaminated food or water. Besides, such negligence could lead to resources drying up. It is obvious that many enterprises are excessively exploiting natural resources such as fossil fuels or forests to raise their productivity. Because fossil fuels are non-renewable supplies and forests need such a long time to recover from being cut down, excessive exploitation may lead to the depletion of these resources. This will put more pressure on future generations. Nevertheless, some measures should be taken to address these issues. In terms of pollution, businesses should put more effort into waste management and adopt environmentally sustainable business strategies. For instance, toxic substances such as chemicals should be examined carefully before being disposed of into the surroundings. As regards resource depletion, governments could introduce stricter laws and more detailed regulations to circumscribe the unreasonable use of natural resources. Incorporations and industries should be severely punished because of their infringement of such laws and regulations. This could also deter the violation of other businesses and raise their concern about environmental issues. All in all, there are many risks posed by businesses which ignore their environmental influences to further their profits. To offset these impacts, many measures should be soon adopted.