Is the mental strength important for success in sports or is it more important to have strong and fit people in sports.

People have different views with regard to the question of between mental strength and physical strength, which one is more essential for success in sport. In my view, there is no doubt that both bring many benefits to the athlete but it seems a touch and strong body will have more advantages. Having good mental health helps people to have positive thinking which will benefit them in some certain conditions. Sport is a competitive game where players will face other competitors and will be lost sometimes, no matter how good they are. Good mental health will assist them to keep their anger at a manageable level, control their emotion and stay cool. This is the sporting spirit that every athlete is encouraged to have for success and image of their career. On the other hand, physical strength not only becomes an integral part of an athlete’s training but also has a direct effect on their performance for several reasons. Firstly, the constant training will help them reduce injuries which is inevitable in sports competition. Doing practices everyday with increasing intensity helps their muscles be more resilient and recover faster when injuries are incurred. Secondly, power, speed and quickness are the main factors of success in most sports, which can only be improved through training. A training plan which includes interval training and good nutrition will help to reduce the fat in their body, build up the needed strength and muscle, and as a result, I believe it will help them have a better performance in competition. In conclusion, although there are some differences in people’s opinion in regards to physical strength and mental strength in the success of sport, I strongly believe that physical strength is more essential.