Is social media damaging to our personal relationships?

I am in favor of social networking have had a detrimental impact on our individual relationships. It is often seen that people have become disjointed and fragmented as social networking sites become prevalent in societies and communities. People now, in era 4. 0, can make new friends more easily through the platform of social networking sites such as Facebook, Instagram, etc by texting and without meeting in person so, over time, this makes them increasingly lazy or even shy to communicate face-to-face. Moreover, each individual in the family is greatly affected by getting addicted to social media sites and their connection with each other becomes less and less in contemporary days. Our age-old traditions of greeting our family members and peers by visiting them physically have become obsolete. To illustrate, nowadays people send greetings on the birthdays of their family members and friends through social media. Without a doubt, social networking is damaging our relationship so we would better reduce our social media time and focus on real life.