Is respect required for people or not

The question is whether we should expect people to treat each other with respect in such a crowded world. Personally, I believe we should have such an expectation because it would be better for all of us. In the following paragraphs, some reasons are provided to support this idea. Not being polite contradicts moral principles. “Respect and Prestige” are introduced as of the five important principles of morality by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and obviously, being impolite violates these principles. As morality is concerned with the distinction between right and wrong or good and bad, observance of moral norms (e. g. , being respectful) makes the world a better place to live. Seriously, no one wants to live in a world where disrespect is common. Although in a subjective manner, I personally do not expect anybody to treat me nicely because failure to meet expectations may make me angry, at the social level, such an expectation should exist because otherwise, chaos will happen in society. Moreover, being polite and having moral conduct can help countries to make progress in all aspects, e. g. , economy, social welfare, etc. , because morality leads to the synergy of effectiveness; for example, lots of researchers believe that one of the most important reasons for the Scandinavian countries to be so successful is the value they place on teaching students to treat each other with respect, and it will make them happier and more compatible with each other, and these personality traits will remain with them for their whole life including their career. Therefore, politeness does not seem to be a negotiable requirement for the society. Behaving impolitely increases violence among people. Nowadays, people lead hectic lives due to the hustle and bustle of city lives, and they are significantly under stress and in a rush most of the time, therefore they became more impatient than before and their limitation of tolerance has declined; therefore, they are likely not to be able to tolerate any disrespectful behavior from others. Moreover, anxiety and stress inherently make the people angry, let alone facing an impolite person. Also, anger is known as the primary motive for violence which disturbs the peace of the people and also increases violent crimes. Lots of studies have shown the positive impacts of the observance of moral norms and being respectful on the violence and crime reduction; for example, prisons in some cities in Denmark became empty of prisoners, which is a result of taking the respect and morality seriously in the society. Hence, we should expect the people to treat each other respectfully. In this essay, some reasons were provided to support this idea that we should expect people to be polite to each other despite all the hustle and bustle of their modern lives. In this case, the world would be a better place for everyone because being polite wouldn’t contradict moral principles, would guarantee the observance of moral norms, and would prevent violence in society.