Imagine that you are going to visit a new city, which one of the following ways do you think is the best way to know the city in a short time?

Visiting a new city is not just for entertainment but also a golden opportunity to gain lots of information and broaden our horizon. The question that arises here is what the best option is for us to know a new city in a short time; visiting its historical sites, going to shops and markets, or spending time in restaurants and cafés. I believe that the best option is to visit historical places, and in the following paragraphs some reasons are provided to support this choice. First, historical places are valuable resources of information about the city. Properly knowing a city is not possible if we don’t put a concentration on its history and past events. In this regard, Historical sites contain lots of data about the history of the city and let us quickly know how it reaches its current point. They can teach us the history of ordinary people of the city in the past and their strategies and institutions for coping with life, the traditional architectural designs, and the sequence of the political and cultural changes of that city. Interestingly, all of these can happen during a short tour. When I went to Shiraz for the first time, I was a total stranger to this city. Touring its historical places like Takhte Jamshid helped me realize how important Shiraz had been and how the current situation of Shiraz has been evolved till now. Second, tour guides who work in historical sites can assist us in increasing our knowledge about the city. Tour guides provide lots of information on cultural, historical, and contemporary heritage to people. Additionally, not only are they educated in the related fields, but they are also native people who are ready to share their vast information about their beloved hometown eagerly. Hence, using their immense knowledge, we can know different aspects of the city such as religious, political, cultural, economic, and architectural aspects as fast as possible. During my journey of knowing Shiraz, the utilization of receiving information from tour guides enabled me to accelerate gaining information about the city. I remember well a tour guide whose name was Mohammad. He was a genial and kind-hearted person and a total expert in historical sociology. In less than an hour, Mohammad put the information in a nutshell and helped me understand how the Shiraz’s society has been developing through history. In closing, this essay tried to support the idea that visiting historical places of the cities is the best option to know it quickly. In this regard, two reasons were provided: first, historical places are valuable resources of information, and second, tour guides who are both experts and native can accelerate the procedure of knowing the city.