Is creativity important?

It has frequently been pointed out that today's rapidly changing and highly competitive business environment accelerates the need for innovations among all organizations (e. g. , Gino et al. , 2010). In order to maintain and enhance their effectiveness and competitiveness, organi- zations strive to be innovative (Amabile, 2000; Paulus & Nijstad, 2003; Davis, 2009). Individ- uals contribute to organizational innovation in the form of the generation of original and poten- tially valuable ideas concerning products, ser- vices and processes (Zhou & George, 2001). Given the importance of ideas for innovation, the question how these ideas are generated should be solidly grounded. Cognitive styles (e. g. , Kirton, 1976) have been shown to be good predictors of creativity over and above personal attributes (e. g. , Harrison et al. , 2002). Hence, to add to a valid explanation of idea generation, we argue that cognitive pro- cesses underlying idea generation must be taken into account. Whereas research on idea generation has begun to address the cognitive processes underlying original idea generation (e. g. , Nijstad, Stroebe & Lodewijkx, 2003), little attention has been paid so far to the question whether the cognitive mechanisms underlying originality, i. e. , the production of novel ideas, are different from those underlying fluency, i. e. the production of many ideas. Whereas orig- inality seems to be necessary for breakthrough innovation (Taylor & Greve, 2006), the ability to generate a large numbers of ideas (fluency) might be useful for innovations that are not built on a single discovery or invention such as considering several potential application mar- kets (O'Connor & McDermott, 2004). As both kinds of idea generation seem to be crucial for innovation, we shed light on the question whether a single person can complementary possess all cognitive skills required for idea- tional fluency and original ideas or whether the cognitive demands are rather contradictory. We base our analysis on a study with 191 indi- viduals. Our results show that ideational flu- ency and originality of generated ideas indeed depend on the cognitive style of individuals