Is animal testing justified

The mistreatment of animals for the sake of science has been a cause for debate since ancient times. While some people agree that this is essential for the progress of science, others think that experimentation on these speechless creatures should be made illegal. In this essay, I will explore whether this experimentation is acceptable and if there are any alternatives that can be introduced. Experimentation on animals can be classified into two types, one which is related to the testing of live-saving medicines or vaccines and the other which is used for checking the side effects of luxury products. In the first case, the future of the human species may be at stake and unfortunately the experimentation on animals does get justified. When faced with a pandemic, with people dying in the thousands, would we not be more concerned about our fellow beings. On the other hand, animals are also being used to test products such as makeup and perfumes, which are not a necessity and thus do not have a justification. In conclusion, we can continue to justify this inhumane behavior, but it is prudent to start looking for alternatives. Scientists should focus on using animals only for those experiments that are of a commercial nature. In addition, one of the fields that scientists may focus on could be cloning. In this case, test subjects may be created solely with the purpose of experimentation. While this still raises many ethical and legislative questions, it could be a viable alternative. To conclude I would say that animal testing has become a necessary evil in our times and we all need to work towards looking for alternatives to this substantially heartbreaking practice