Is animal experimentation necessary? Are there any alternatives?

Animal protection organisations are expanding throughout the globe and with that, animal experimentation is being questioned and becoming a relevant issue to be discussed. While scientists argue that using animal models is crucial for scientific advances, activists defend that there should be some alternative for this cruel practice. It's common sense that animals shoudn't be explored for any kind of activity. With evolution, humans developed the capacity to overpower less evolved creatures but they can also use those acquired habilities (such as intelligence) to chose to do something different. However, some lines of research demands that animals such as rabbits, mice or even dogs are used in order to make an important discovery. An example would be new cancer treatments that has to be tested on a live organism before it's employed in human beings. This is absolutely necessary since we can't give people a potentially hazardous drug without testing its safety beforehand. Of course there is a chance of causing damaging side effects on the laboratory animals as well, but it's a case of choosing the lesser evil. Other industries such as beauty and cosmetics also tests their products on animals. As most of the vegan and cruelty-free cosmetics do, there is an alternative which is using ingredients that were already tested and approved for human use. But sometimes, as mentioned before, testing on animals is essential for the development of an important product. For this cases, researchers have developed tissues that mimics human skin and other organs and could be used to decrease the amount of tests performed on animals. In conclusion, even if the majority of people believe that animal experimentation should be banned, science still has to evolve for that to be possible. Right now, what can be done is try to abolish tests on animals in every situation that it is not absolutely necessary and increase research in alternative methods of testing new products.