Internet forms of storage

Stepping into the 21st-century fourth industrial revolution has set its foot in all spheres of our life as well as bridged the physical and digital worlds including changing the place where human beings preserve the enormous amount of knowledge from books to the internet. Personally, I believe the upsides of this trend outweigh the downsides. On the one hand, the benefits ebooks bring to us are undeniable that results in an ever-increase in people preferring online books. First and foremost, in this busy world, everything needs to be time-saving and using the internet costs extremely less time than reading books. To illustrate in the past, students had to spend time visiting several shops to purchase books while now a click which takes just a few seconds can literally solve all their problems. This is why using the internet has long been regarded as the most convenient way to approach comprehension regardless of time or accommodation. Consequently, people can easily search for everything every time and every place. Also, e-books are absolutely more eco-friendly than traditional paper books which caused deforestation and induce a higher level of pollution all over the world. Furthermore, people can access almost everything online on free websites which can save a great amount of money but still fulfil their requirements such as Wikipedia - the biggest storage of knowledge kept online. This way can reduce pressure on busy people such as students or businessmen who need to do research nearly every day. On the other hand, admittedly, storing knowledge on the internet also has some drawbacks. First of all, constantly using digital devices such as laptops or smartphones is likely to cause several physical problems such as eye strain and backache. Moreover, people, especially young children, can get short-sighted due to hours looking at screens. It has been proved that electromagnetic waves from phones or computers can harm our brain badly and lead to memory loss. It is also notable that the nonstop growth in the number of free books or documentaries would result in pirating. As a matter of fact, this phenomenon has destroyed the likelihood of many potential authors and it is not easy to handle plagiarism. In conclusion, I think those aforementioned disadvantages can be controlled with the help of the government and people themselves to put a limit on the usage of the Internet. On balance, I reckon that storing knowledge online would be given precedence over paper books owing to their numerous merits.