International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

The presence of foreign visitors is tremendously significant in many countries, but some people are frightened of the effect it has on both its surroundings and citizens. Although there are certain disadvantages to this trend, I however believe that the merits exceeds the demerit. Agreeably, tourists make items more expensive to purchase for local citizens. This is due to the fact that many traders and business owners believe that foreigners are wealthy as they do not bargain prices with them unlike the local people. For this reason, they randomly feel the need to exaggerate the cost of products in order to make more profit without necessarily considering the public. For instance, It has been a trend for business owners in Nigeria to increase the cost of clothings during Christmas period because of the high influx rate of foreigners into the country, as a result, citizens are forced to shop before then to avoid such inflation. Nevertheless, globetrotting increases employment opportunities in a country. The main purpose of traveling for some individuals, especially the youths, is to be fully entertained. These make them constantly request for goods and services, therefore increasing demand which causes employees to recruit more staffs in order to meet this rising demand. For example, The number of staffs at Shoprite Shopping Centre, Lekki branch, is higher compared to their other branches because the foot-fall is significantly high, as it is close to a resort frequently visited by tourists, and so, the necessity for more work force. To conclude, although foreign travelers causes the cost of items to increase, they also increase employment rate which makes their advantages better than their disadvantages.