Intelligence is the most important quality that a leader needs to have.

It is argued that intelligence is the most crucial personality trait for effective leadership. While there might be some truth in this statement, I am of the view that there are other equally important characteristics to it. There are some instances when intelligence can be viewed as key part of leadership. One is linked with conflict resolution. It is no wonder that workplace is full of disagreements and arguments among co-workers, so knowing when to use the right approach to settle those differences is central to leadership in these cases. Not only while resolving conflicts, but also in making important decisions for the company, intelligence does play a vital part. Leaders are the ones who set long-term objectives, develop strategies, and keep their organization running. Conversely, a company might be on the verge of bankruptcy if it were not for intelligent leaders. Despite the reasons stated above, I believe that other leadership qualities are as essential as intelligence. Firstly, if a leader is not dedicated to their job, it sets a poor example to subordinates. This is because if a company manager or a CEO comes to work late, does not work to their full potential, and are not motivated to go the extra mile, employees are also likely to hold a reluctant attitude to work. Dedication of leaders is what keeps the whole team focused on the task, willing to work overtime if needed, and enjoy pay rises as a consequence. Besides being dedicated, leaders also must possess strong social skills. If it were not for interpersonal skills, a company would face high turnover and employee dissatisfaction. From my personal experience, my boss, who has good interpersonal skills, has persuaded me to handle my colleague’s workload recently during his ill-health though I have been reluctant. In conclusion, although the role of intelligence is significant in resolving conflicts and taking strategic decisions that will impact the company in the long run, I disagree that dedication and social skills of leaders are less important than intelligence.