Individual freedom should be valued over other social values because society is for an individual and not vice versa. Discuss and give your opinion.

Nowadays, more importance is given to individual freedom rather than to social values. Some argue that it should be so as person is for society and not vice versa. This essay will explain both the views and give reasons why I believe individual freedom with some restrictions is a better option. On one hand, some believe that people should give more importance to their individual freedom instead of societal values. There are mainly two reasons for this belief, freedom to express and difference in thinking. Firstly, youngsters nowadays want to express whatever they feel or experience. While society never stops them from doing so, they do judge them. For instance, a boy who bought his first car and posted about it on social media is likely to be judged for the car he has bought. Moreover, there are many differences in thinking of the young and the old people. As society comprises of both, there are chances of contradiction in thoughts. For example, a young man who believes that technology can be used for beneficial purposes is opposed by an old man who thinks it is just for entertainment purposes. However, it does give rise to differences among people. It is better to enjoy freedom but with some limitation. Thus, due to different beliefs many people think that having individual freedom with some constraints is a better option. On the contrary, others think that we must follow societal values as everyone is a part of it. They think that if we follow the societal values it preserves our culture. Society is mainly based on the cultural beliefs because of which, they argue that in order to retain our culture from disappearing it is better that people start preserving it by following it in their daily lives. To preserve culture and maintain a code of conduct in the society it is preferred to follow social values. To sum up, I believe that enjoying freedom with some restrictions is a better option to preserve culture as well as to enjoy personal space.