Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is a widely held belief that by raising the price in the fuel consumption, concerning matters such as polluted air and the increase in the rate of traffic jams would be solved. However, I am inclined to believe, this decision will lead to more trouble for most part of the society. Needless to say, serious measure should be taken to halt this issue. It should not go with out saying that a society is mostly made up from families who have an average salary rate or even ones who find it difficult to maintain a prosper lifestyle due to the amount of money they are paid. Therefore, with the change in the price of petrol the wealthy would not mind to pay the extra cash, but on the other hand, the middle-class families will face some difficulties. For instance, many individuals need to commute to the suburbs during the week, and in doing so driving their personal vehicles is necessary for them to reach their destination. If the fuel cost becomes a burden on their transportation, it will cause them financial conditions. Having said that, as the rise in the pollution rate and an influx of vehicles in the cities, there are further ways to tackle this issue. Firstly, the government should develop the public transportation system in every corner of the city. Ensuring people by constructing new lanes of trams and bus lines, especially the areas where it might be difficult for them to reach without their own cars. Subsequently, banning the usage of personal cars in certain areas of the town, like the city center which is usually more crowded by automobiles, can play a major role in reducing the amount of bumper to bumper traffic jams. Last but not least, encouraging people to use bikes by improving the cycling lanes around the town can also have a huge impact in minimizing the mentioned concerns. To conclude, multiplying the price of fuels used like petrol, will not help in reducing the number of cars on the street, nor will it help with the air pollution, as it will cause serious matters for the average living people of the society. Other actions, such as raising public awareness, restrictions on traveling and developing means of transport by the government can be more helpful.