Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that with the existence of the Internet, unlimited information is accessible for the public just at our fingertips. While certain people agree that provide sensitive data such as scientific experiments, academic papers, and business data would be beneficial, I would argue that these confidential details should not open to the public. On the other hand, those who think that sharing these documents will give a positive impact might argue that the public can utilize the information to enhance the existing resource. This is because the original research papers might be outdated and not relevant to the current situation. For example, in education especially for technology subjects, it needs to be updated frequently and the academicians need contribution from the industrial experts to provide relevant approaches for students. If we didn’t make our data as open-source, we will be left behind from current information. However, in my opinion, is that only share the necessary information with the public as unethical people will misuse the resources that available to them. The reason for this is that they have bad intentions to use the skills that they gained from these resources. For example, in corporate world, if we reveal every of our company data such as financial reports, marketing, or business strategy, our competitors will take this as a weapon to sabotage our business and we don’t even realize this will happen. In some conditions, sharing our knowledge always brings a good impact for those who need it but some never appreciate this as blessings until we lost this benefit. In conclusion, despite sharing all confidential resources brings benefit to the people and contribute back to the community, it is my firm belief that giving only relevant information will be enough to avoid chaos from the immoral individual.