Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic and pollution have been two major issues around the world. It is believed that increasing the price of petrol is the best solution. It is my firm belief that increasing the petrol price doesn’t have an effect on cutting down pollution. However, countries can find some alternative energy sources in order to tackle these ongoing two problems. On the one hand, there are people who think that increasing the price of petrol will reduce its use thus, decreasing traffic congestion and pollution. It is pointed out that raising the petrol price is a short term measure and there is no effect on pollution. Whereas the number of cars has decreased on roads, it largely affects prices of food and other goods, too. For instance, in my country, Turkey, everything depends on each other like a chain. It means that the higher the price of fuel is, the higher the price on food is. This leads to inflation in poor countries. As a result of this, people have to survive to buy even a slice of bread with their wage. On the other hand, governments can use sustainable resources like solar energy and wind power. It can provide multiple solutions for both pollution and congestion. For example, If transportation vehicles run on solar energy, it would be cheaper. It also contributes less carbon dioxide emission to the environment. By way of illustration, wind energy is renewable and it is also a source of clean, non-polluting, electricity. According to research, the countries using wind energy have less gas emissions and their air quality is better than those not using wind energy. In conclusion, we can say it is not the best solution to increase the price of fuel for less traffic and less pollution. Thus, it can be highly recommended that the best way of decreasing pollution and traffic is to use sustainable energy. In addition, we should be aware that there is just one world.