In your opinion, what makes people’s beauty criteria different around the world? In less than 250 words, write a short essay to describe your opinion and support your viewpoint with examples from the article.

Perception of beauty is influenced by various factors such as cultural beliefs, tradition, social media, individual personalities. However, in my opinion, culture and social media these days are two main causes that make people’s beauty criteria different around the world. First, diversities of cultural beliefs lead to different perceptions about beauty. For example, in Africa, the Surmese women wear a plate in their bottom lip. It is not only a symbol of great beauty but also a part of their culture because it marks a commitment to the husband. If a husband dies, the lip plate is removed since a woman’s external beauty is said to fade after his death. Or in east Africa, without bottom teeth is considered a form of beauty standard. Second, our perception of beauty is impacted by seeing models, celebrities, and influencers on social media. For instance, I used to despise tattoos and despise people who had tattoos on their bodies. However, when my idol displayed her tattoo collection, which appears to be really attractive and outstanding, my mind has changed and I now see it as art. In conclusion, cultural beliefs and social media are the main reasons that make people have different standards about beauty. However, the word “beautiful” holds more meaning to it than you would think. It could mean you have a beautiful soul or a beautiful smile. What you do not realize is, you could be beautiful in one country and not even the slightest bit of attractive in other.