In today's society more and more work is done by machines. Do you think that the positive effects of this development outweigh the negative effects on individuals and society?

In this technological world, we have machines to do most of the work. This development has various advantages like improvement in the quality of products and increases the efficiency, that, in my opinion, certainly outweigh a few disadvantages like unemployment and the lack of physical activity. On the one hand, engineers and scientists have been instrumental in the development of machines that reduces a lot of effort by a human. For example; cranes and other weight lifting machines can lift tons of weight with little human intervention. One machine can do the work of hundreds of people by itself, thus reducing the cost of hiring many workers. Further, machines use computer intelligence. It means that the quality of work is never questionable. Humans get tired after working long hours, and they might make mistakes when tired, but this is not the case in machines, and machines can do the same work 24*7 without getting tired and without compromising on quality. On the other hand, more the machines in businesses lesser the need of workers. Take, for example; after the introduction of ATM, there is no need for cashiers in the bank. Thus, whenever there is an invention of a new machine, many people's jobs might get in danger. Although machines reduce the effort and help to save time, it certainly decreases the physical activity among people. For instance; with the invention of automatic vehicles, people have reduced the use of bicycles which was a very good exercise. Thus, there has been a significant increase in health-related problems due to lack of physical activity. In conclusion, there are pros and cons of everything, and machinery is not an exception. It, undoubtedly, comes with numerous benefits helping humans to do more in a minimal time, but it has certainly risen unemployment and diseases like obesity and diabetes.