in some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In the last few decades, renting a place to live has become more and more common between people because of its advantages: it is a comfortable way to live if you are a traveller, or if you don’t have enough money to buy your own house or apartment. However, not everyone shares this idea, because a lot of people prefer to buy a house and be the owner of it. Nowadays this is not very usual, but some people choose this option of living, which may be for different reasons: wanting to start a family, utilise the money effectively as they spent it on their own place and not another’s one (which is the case when you rent), or maybe someone can afford to buy their own place without issues. Owning the place you live also has advantages, for example you can remodel your house without having to consult the landlord of the place, which for some people is a very important aspect, because decorating the place you live the way you want and whenever you want, is part of feeling at home. Depending on someone for living the way you want, may be difficult for some people. From my perspective, being the owner of the place you live is a good idea when you are certain that you will stay for a long time in that place, otherwise, I do not think it is useful to make that expenditure. Hence, to own your home may be a positive or a negative situation depending on the prospective and your plans for the future. For instance, I rented different apartments for 4 years, and it wasn’t an experience I enjoyed in terms of rules, as the landlords were very restrictive. Nevertheless, I was not planning to live in that city for plenty of time, so I did not want to invest on buying my own place. Therefore, in my recent experience, owning the place was a negative situation. To sum up, owning a place may be a wonderful idea if you want to live there for plenty of years, or you can afford to make that expenditure. On the contrary, I think is not important or rentable to buy the place, which is why is becoming more popular renting apartments and houses to live.