in some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Parents, families and other institutions commonly raise and educate children to be “their best version of themselves” and to be constant and work hard to achieve their dreams. This is a message well spread around the world that allows not only children, but people in general, be more optimistic and set themselves high goals. The benefit of sending this type of messages to children is that is useful for their mental health and permit them to have a healthy growth in terms of happiness and accomplishments. Telling a child to work and try hard to achieve something they want, helps to develop in them a sense of effort and the satisfaction afterwards would be a motivation to continuing setting goals in their lives, which is fundamental in our life’s purposes. Furthermore, this type of message contributes to raise children with important values as the honesty with themselves, which, from my point of view, may also reduce criminals and robbers in the future, since they will prefer to work personally to achieve what they want, instead of maybe taking an easier path. On the other hand, a disadvantage of sending this message to children is that may result in raising competitive people, with extremely high standards and also may cause frustration in them when they cannot achieve their objectives. For instance, my family have always told me to set myself higher goals because they knew I could achieve anything, which later in my life created a feeling of high stress so I could accomplish everything that I wanted to do, at the same time that I did more and more tasks because of the feeling that I can do everything for myself. This is obviously not a healthy lifestyle, and may be a drawback of that type of education. With that in mind, I believe that is a strong message that should be used with careful when it comes to raising a child.