In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

As the countries are getting more and more developed in this rat race society, the modern world has changed the way people lived. To illustrate this, there are numerous people who would like to go for a window shopping rather than doing other activities outdoor to kill their boredom. Some of them even consider shopping as their hobby. Having said that, I personally think that shopping can bring happiness to some of the people, but it does not bring more of a blessing than of a curse. First and foremost, going for a window shopping is convenient. This is in light of the fact that there are a plethora of facilities to use. Furthermore, there are a number of stores and oceans of choices for people to choose, such as groceries, clothes and the list to go, which is impossible to list all of them. In addition, people can spend their time by going to the cinema to watch a movie. Moreover, they can buy some gifts for themselves as an encouragement. Hence, the feeling of contentment will spark in them and motivated to work harder in near future. In addition, the great amount of shops enable us, as wise consumers to compare prices so that we can purchase an item with the most reasonable price. In this extend, I think that shopping is a positive trend nowadays. On the other side of the coin, I personally think that shopping brings more negative effects without a doubt. First and foremost, this causes people to waste a lot of money on unnecessary items. Most of the people nowadays, particularly teenagers, will be influenced by social media easily, such as the fashion trend today. When the teenagers with no income are influenced, they will be in deep water undoubtedly. This is owing to the fact that they will definitely waste a lot of money, which can be spent on a better use or save for future use, as the saying that goes, a penny saved is a penny earned. Apart from that, some of the teenagers will be addicted to buy branded items such as Gucci and Louis Vuitton bags, Balenciaga shirts and the list to go, which cost an am and a leg. Hence, as a consequence, they do not save their money for emergency fund. Money does not grow on trees. Therefore, it would be best if teenagers save their money for better use. Lastly and most importantly, window shopping can waste a lot of valuable time. Some people will tend to spend the whole day in the shopping mall without feeling tired. Time is money. It would be the best thing since sliced bread to spend time doing more beneficial activities such as reading and studying. For students, it is their responsibility to spend more time learning rather than shopping. Otherwise, the clouds will be on the horizon. There is a famous quotes, saying that it is easy to dodge our responsibilities, however, we cannot dodge the consequences of dodging our responsibilities. Therefore, there is no crying over split milk. To make a long story short, I would say that shopping is more of a negative trend than a positive trend. This is due to the fact that it brings more disadvantages compare to advantages to people from all walks of life.