In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Ever since ancient times, shopping has been an integral part of human life, lately, shopping has changed from roaming around in the aisles of a brick and mortar store to swiping on our screen. However, that is not the only aspect of shopping that has changed. In the following discussion, we will see how shopping has evolved from a routine domestic activity to a hobby, a transition which I believe to be an extremely positive trend, which with proper direction might revolutionize consumerism. In the past, shopping was restricted to general household commodities and was done as needed. Nowadays, due to globalization, a shopper has a lot of choices than he/she did a couple of decades ago. The internet has brought the whole world together, this forces people to constantly update and modernize their look and choices. This has led to the emergence of shopping as a hobby as opposed to a need. A consumer can choose from a wide variety of products. Due to the rise of social media, people want to be seen consuming products that are trendy. Another positive impact of this trend is the improvement in mental health. Studies prove that having a hobby can boost a person's brain activity, thereby making him more aware, passionate, and involved in other aspects of his/her life. This would in turn greatly enhance his/her life expectancy. Shopping as a hobby can impart people a much-needed break from their otherwise hectic life. It will also lead to people socializing more outside of their comfort zones. It can provide a means of soothing or relaxing their brains by challenging them to make a choice between two or more products. In addition to the aforementioned benefits, shopping as a hobby would also greatly benefit the businesses. A shopping hobbyist would not differentiate between small or big shops, renowned or newer brands. This will lead to an increase in the exposure to all kinds of businesses, providing all of them an equal opportunity to grow. This will boost their profits and also motivate artists to come up with new and innovative designs. Thus, the economic, as well as artistic sector, would both be heavily benefited. This hobby can also be converted into a profession by becoming a professional personal shopper to people who lack either the skills or time to engage in shopping themselves. In conclusion, this emergence of shopping as a hobby as widespread benefits from improvement in mental health to rise of a new job category. However, we need to be able to maintain this positive impact by providing shoppers with extensive choices and promoting the right trends.